John Roark (left) shakes hands with former president Rick Hiles
THP Chairman John Roark Elected President of National HBPA

The National HBPA Board of Directors elected Texas Horsemen's Partnership Chairman and Texas Thoroughbred HBPA President John Roark to a two-year term as it's new president at a meeting on Tuesday, August 14. The Board meeting took place as part of the National HBPA's summer convention held in Boston, Massachusetts. The THP is an affiliate member organization of the National HBPA, a national horsemen's organization consisting of over 30 affiliate member organizations and representing over 30,000 horsemen throughout North America.

Roark, who had served as the National HBPA's vice president for the past two years, defeated incumbent president Rick Hiles of Kentucky by 10 votes (49 to 39). Hiles had narrowly defeated Roark to win the office two years earlier.

Of his election, Roark told the Thoroughbred Times, "We have been able to make huge strides in horsemen's issues in Texas during the past several years, and I am looking to bring the same types of initiatives to the National HBPA's other affiliate members." He continued, "During my visits with representatives of the nation's other affiliates, I have found that we are all encountering the same types of issues and barriers, and I hope that I can be the person to bring some continuity to the National HBPA."

Unanimously elected to replace Roark as National HBPA vice president was Larry Riviello. Riviello, the president of the Pennsylvania Thoroughbred Horsemen's Association (PTHA), ran unopposed.

Dr. Ed Hagen of Oregon was re-elected for another two-year term as the National HBPA's Chairman of the Board. Hagen has held that position for the past 11 years. Additionally, Joe Santanna of Pennsylvania has agreed to continue in his position of Secretary/Treasurer.

Back to News