Texas Horsemen's Partnership Graduates First Class of Groom Elites at Lone Star Park

The Texas Horsemen's Partnership graduated its first class of 35 Groom Elites at Lone Star Park at Grand Prairie on Tuesday, June 12. The graduation took place during the THP's Horsemen's Appreciation Party held in the Texas Thoroughbred Sales Pavilion in Lone Star Park's stable area that evening. Each graduate received a Certificate of Completion and a "Groom Elite" jacket.

The Groom Elite Program, a groundbreaking program consisting of a ten-week course covering 30 topics designed to teach stable area employees horse handling skills and to insure that they are competent and knowledgeable in equine care.

The Groom Elite Program was administered by the THP under the supervision of THP Board member Sue O'Hara and with considerable assistance from Terry Blanton. The program was taught by Texas A&M professor Dr. Doug Householder, with Spanish translation by Lone Star Park employee Eddie Rodriguez. The course was open to all licensed horsemen (grooms, assistant trainers, exercise riders, and even owners or trainers).

The American Quarter Horse Association has been very generous in helping with the printed materials for the course. Additionally, Lone Star Park and Sam Houston Race Park have been extremely helpful and supportive of this endeavor. Similar Groom Elite courses will also be held at Sam Houston Race Park and Retama Park.

The following people completed the Groom Elite Program at Lone Star Park and earned a Certificate of Completion for their hard work:

Elpidio Chavez Arteaga
Joaquin Chavez Arteaga
Armando Bartolome
Florencio Camacho
Daniel Campos
J. Jesus Campos
Romel Campos
Efrain Chaves
Francisco Chavez
Daniel Cruz
Roberto Lora Cruz
Fermin Esquivel
Jesus Esquivel
Jose Hernandez Gomez
Jorge Guevara
Randall J. Hall
Rafael Hernandez
Andrew Hogan
Cynthia Mulder Hogan
Antonia Trejo Lora
Pablo Ocampo
Arcides Orosco
J. Cruz Ortiz
Diola Perez
Eduardo Ramirez
Florentino Baez Relles
Leobardo Rivera
Rafael Rodriquez
Mario Salas
Leonardo Salazar
Zeferino Sandoval
Douglas Smith
Kurt J. Sprowl
Jose Gilberto Verastegui
Francisco Zapata
Back to News