William Farish
2004 Texas Horse Racing Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

The Texas Horse Racing Hall of Fame has announced that it will induct a total of four new members in 2004 at two gala and induction ceremonies. This year’s inductees will be William Farish, Ben Hudson, Nelson Bunker Hunt, and Anne Burnett Tandy.

William Farish is owner of Lane’s End, a breeding operation with divisions in Kentucky and Texas. The former U. S. ambassador to Great Britain, Farish has also owned a number of top racehorses alone and in partnerships, including 2003 Horse of the Year Mineshaft.

Ben Hudson is the founder and publisher of Track Magazine, which is the oldest and largest independently-owned publication serving “the running Quarter Horse business.” Track has been around for over 25 years. In addition, Hudson is a member of the American Quarter Horse (AQHA) Racing Council.

Nelson Bunker Hunt is a three-time Eclipse Award winner as the nation’s leading Thoroughbred breeder. Hunt campaigned four champions, and his horses won top races both in the U.S. and in Europe.

The late Anne Burnett Tandy was the owner of the 6666 Ranch. In addition, she founded the American Quarter Horse Heritage Center and Museum.

According to Texas Horse Racing Hall of Fame Executive Director Jo Ann Weber, “We are thrilled to have such an outstanding group of horsemen and horsewomen. These four people are true giants of the racing industry.”

Hudson and Tandy will be inducted into the Texas Horse Racing Hall of Fame at the American Quarter Horse industry gala on August 14 at Sam Houston Race Park. Farish and Hunt will be inducted at a Thoroughbred industry gala at Lone Star Park at Grand Prairie on October 23, one week prior to the Breeders’ Cup World Thoroughbred Championship.

Back to News