||Texas Racing Commission Announces Increase
in Occupational Licensing Fees
The Texas Racing Commission
recently approved occupational licensing fee increases and established
a trainer testing fee. Both changes are effective on August 1, 2009.
In accordance with the Texas Racing Act, fees are based on the relative
or comparative incomes or property interests of the various categories
of licensees, with the higher income category of licensees paying the
higher fees. The last increase to occupational license fees was in May
Most of the lower income license fees will increase $5, from $20 to $25.
For example, assistant starters, exercise riders, grooms, kennel helpers,
lead-outs, and valets will now pay a $25 yearly licensing fee. Association
management officers and directors, industry representatives, jockeys,
kennel owners, owners, and trainers will see a $25 increase, from $75
to $100 per year.
The Commission also adopted two new license types, Vendor Totalisator
and Vendor Totalisator Employee. Each totalisator vendor that provides
services in this state will now pay a $500 occupational license fee and
each totalisator employee will pay a $50 fee.
Trainer and assistant trainer candidates will now pay a $50 fee to cover
the costs of administering the written and practical examinations. Assessing
a fee covers the costs administering the exams. Assessing a fee should
also reduce the expenses caused by trainer candidates who take the examination
before being adequately prepared and/or who miss scheduled examinations
without adequate notice. The written examination is monitored by Commission
staff. Three people administer the practical examination: a Steward, a
Commission Veterinarian, and a Texas Horsemen’s Partnership representative.
Additionally, a horse and tack are needed so the prospective trainer can
demonstrate hands-on horse knowledge.
In addition to the changes in occupational license fees, the Commission
will assess fees to consider changes in racetrack ownership. Effective
August 1, 2009, depending on the class of racetrack and the type of ownership
change, these fees range from $3,500 to $75,000. A fee will also be assessed
to consider a change in racetrack location. Depending on whether a track
is a greyhound track or a Class 1, 2 3 or 4 horse track, the change in
location fee ranges from $7,500 to $100,000. In February of 2009, the
Commission raised inactive racetrack license fees by $25,000 a year.
The Commission is required by law to set fees in amounts reasonable and
necessary to cover the
Commission’s cost of regulating, overseeing, and licensing live
and simulcast racing at racetracks. The Commission is totally self-funded, receiving no state revenue.