Governor Abbott Appoints Three To Texas Racing Commission

(Austin, Texas - Thursday, April 4, 2019) - Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Arvel "A.J." Waight, Jr. to the Texas Racing Commission for a term set to expire on February 1, 2021. Additionally, the Governor appointed Robert C. Pate and Michael "Mike" Moore for terms set to expire on February 1, 2023. The commission oversees pari-mutuel wagering on horse and greyhound racing.

Arvel "A.J." Waight, Jr. of Willow City is a rancher and former president and owner of a title company. He served in the Texas National Guard from 1966 to 1972, at which point he received an honorable discharge. He is actively involved in a number of civic organizations. Waight attended the University of North Texas and The University of Texas at Austin.

Robert C. Pate of Corpus Christi is an attorney and former judge of the 28th Judicial District Court and the 148th Judicial District Court in Nueces County. In addition to his law license and membership in the State Bar of Texas, he is also a licensed Certified Public Accountant. Pate received a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Professional Accounting in taxation from The University of Texas at Austin and a Juris Doctor degree from Southern Methodist University.

Michael "Mike" Moore of Fort Worth is an attorney in private practice. He has practiced law with the same firm since 2003. Moore received a Bachelor of Science from Texas Christian University and a Juris Doctor from Tulsa Law School.

These appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.

Back to News