Clarence Scharbauer
Lone Star Park Announces 2008 Hall of Fame Inductees

Lone Star Park announced today that Clarence and Dorothy Scharbauer, L. William (Bill) and Corinne Heiligbrodt, and Dixie Dot Com will comprise the second class of inductees into the Lone Star Park Hall of Fame. Dixie Dot Com was owned by Don and Carole Chaiken, and Bart and Ronelle Heller.

On Saturday, July 12, Stars of Texas Day, the newest members of Lone Star Park's Hall of Fame will be honored in a special winner's circle presentation. In addition, they will be permanently enshrined with raised letters on the wall of the grandstand facing the paddock and the names of the inaugural inductees.

"We are extremely pleased to welcome our newest members to the Lone Star Park Hall of Fame," said Lone Star Park President and General Manager Drew Shubeck. "During the first 12 years of Lone Star Park's existence, they have significantly distinguished themselves at both Lone Star Park and in Texas horse racing. We thank them each of them for their important contributions."

Clarence and Dorothy Scharbauer

As owner of Thoroughbred Racing Hall of Famer Alysheba and five Quarter Horse champions, the Scharbauers have left their mark on both Thoroughbred and Quarter Horse racing.

Scharbauer's family owned both 1959 Kentucky Derby (Gr. I) winner Tomy Lee and Alysheba, who won that historic race in 1987 in the colors of his wife, Dorothy. Alysheba went on to win that year's Preakness Stakes (Gr. I) and earned an Eclipse Award as the year's Champion Three-Year-Old Male. The following season, Alysheba won a number of major stakes, culminating in his victory in the Breeders' Cup Classic (Gr. I). He was named 1988 Horse of the Year and retired as the world's richest racehorse.

Scharbauer's impact on the Texas racing industry goes far beyond the success of his runners on the track. Established in 1991 on 393 acres in the rolling hills of Denton County's beautiful horse country, Valor Farm in Pilot Point, Texas grew as a result of the Scharbauers' lifelong love of horses. Today, Valor Farm is home to some of the top stallions in the Southwest.

Scharbauer is a past president of the American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) and was inducted into that organization's Hall of Fame in 1992.

In addition, Scharbauer has been a tremendous benefactor to the American Quarter Horse Foundation having made the largest donation, $2 million, from any individual in its history for the American Quarter Horse Hall of Fame & Museum.

L. William (Bill) and Corinne Heiligbrodt

Bill and Corinne Heiligbrodt got their start with Texas Quarter Horses in cutting competitions. Their Meradas Little Sue, a three-time world champion, retired as the all-time leading money-earning mare with more than $750,000. They began racing Thoroughbreds in 1988 through various partnerships.

Today, the prolific Heiligbrodt stable campaigns horses in most racing markets with trainer Steve Asmussen. Bill has a particular fondness for 2-year-old racing and breeds and races many juveniles. From 1999 through 2007, the Heiligbrodts have won 11 two-year-old stakes at Lone Star Park. The couple has owned all or part of more than 80 stakes winners, of which 35 were graded stakes winners.

They own Palacios Farm in Texas, where the majority of the stable's yearlings and 2-year-olds are raised.

In 2005, they earned an award from the Texas Thoroughbred Association as the leading earner of accredited Texas-bred money. In 2003, they were honored with the Western Region Owner of the Year Award from TOBA.

Dixie Dot Com

As a six-year-old in 2001, Dixie Dot Com became the only horse in history to sweep the Grade 3 Texas Mile and Lone Star Handicap in his only two appearances at Lone Star Park.

An eight-time winner in 23 lifetime starts, Dixie Dot Com earned $1,332,775 while finishing in the money 15 times over a five-year career. Included in those 23 starts for the son of Dixie Brass were 16 graded stakes, where he finished in the top three on 10 occasions.

Dixie Dot Com's first two graded stakes wins came at Santa Anita exactly one year apart on Jan. 16, 1999 in the San Fernando Breeders' Cup as a four-year-old and the San Pasqual Handicap a year later at age five. Both were Grade 2s.

The nominees were selected by the Lone Star Park Hall of Fame Committee, which included Randy Galloway of The Fort Worth Star-Telegram and ESPN 103.3 FM; Dave Hooper, Executive Director of the Texas Thoroughbred Association; Mary Rampellini of Daily Racing Form; Gary West of The Fort Worth Star-Telegram and Lone Star Park's Director of Communications Dan Leary.

These newest inductees join the 14 members of the Foundation Class enshrined a year ago when the Hall of Fame was established during Lone Star Park's 10th Anniversary Season.

The inaugural Lone Star Park Hall of Fame class included 1997 Horse of the Meeting Anet; former Lone Star Park all-time win leader and the 1997 leading jockey Ronald Ardoin; Lone Star Park's eight-time leading trainer and all-time win leader Steve Asmussen; legendary Quarter Horse trainer Jack Brooks, who saddled a record six winners in the lucrative Texas Classics; three-time Eclipse Award-winning trainer Bob Baffert, who has won a dozen Lone Star Park stakes races with major players; popular regular customer and horseplayer J.S. "Ponti" Campagna; original Lone Star Park investors Trammell Crow Family; four-time leading owner Tom Durant; Grand Prairie Mayor Charles England; former Lone Star Park President Corey S. Johnsen; influential Texas Thoroughbred and Quarter Horse owners and breeders Jim and Marilyn Helzer; former Lone Star Park Chairman Robert L. Kaminski; Kool Kue Baby, winner of a record 25 AQHA stakes races; and Mocha Express, the 1998 Horse of the Meet and only two-time Lone Star Park Handicap winner.

Back to News