Live Racing Resumes Thursday Night, April 8, at Lone Star Park

(Grand Prairie, Texas - April 5, 2010) - The gates spring open on the 2010 live racing season at Lone Star Park with the 14th running of the $50,000 Premiere Stakes, to be run at one mile over the main track, for accredited Texas-bred 3-year-olds and upward. Scheduled as race one on the 10-race program, the Premiere Stakes has an approximate post time of 6:35 CDT.

Installed as the 8-5 morning line favorite by track oddsmaker Rick Lee, Coyote Legend, owned by Clarence Scharbauer Jr., and trained by Bret Calhoun, has the look of a rapidly improving three-year-old. Most recently, he scored an impressive 8 ½-length victory in the one-mile $125,000 Jim’s Orbit Stakes at Sam Houston Race Park on Feb. 20. The gelded son of Gold Legend has reeled off three consecutive victories with Bobby Walker Jr. in the irons, and Walker has the assignment once again on Thursday night.

“He’s coming up to the race great,” said trainer Bret Calhoun. “He really moved forward from age two to age three, and ever since we stretched him out in distance, he just seems to be getting better and better.”

Lone Star Park’s all-time leading trainer Steve Asmussen (919 wins), who set the Lone Star Park single season record with 117 victories in 2009, will be represented in the Premiere Stakes by Ablaze With Spirit, second in this event last year. The bay son of American Spirit will be guided Chris Landeros, who led all riders at Lone Star Park in 2009 with 97 victories.

The field from the rail out, with jockey and morning line odds listed in parenthesis, consists of: Huntersrunaway (Junior Chacaltana, 10-1); Ninian (Wilfredo Arroyo 20-1); Lissa’s Star (Martin Escobar, 8-1); One Tough Buck (Paul Nolan, 30-1); Texas Tycoon (Alfredo Contreras, 12-1); Coyote Legend (Bobby Walker Jr., 8-5); Windy Lou (Benito Morales, 12-1); Valid Stripes (Eguard Tejera, 10-1); Ablaze With Spirit (Chris Landeros, 5-2), and Poltergeist (Quincy Hamilton, 8-1).

Lone Star Park’s 2010 Spring Thoroughbred Season will run four days a week every Thursday and Friday at 6:35 p.m. and Saturday and Sunday at 1:35 p.m. starting on April 8. The Lone Star Million program on Memorial Day will start at 1:35 p.m. and special twilight programs with post-race holiday fireworks on Saturday, July 3 and Sunday, July 4 (Lone Stars & Stripes Fireworks Celebration) will commence at 5:00 p.m. (All times are Central Time).

Back to News