New TTHBPA Board Member Dr. Tommy Bullard
THP Election Results

The Texas Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association (THBPA) and Texas Throughbred HBPA, Inc. (TTHBPA), the two component organizations that make up the Texas Horsemen’s Partnership, LLP (THP), recently concluded their annual Board of Directors elections. The THP would like to thank all the candidates who ran for election to serve and represent their fellow Texas horsemen.

THBPA members were selecting two owner and one trainer representatives. Incumbants Ted Abrams and Manuel “Bebe” Gonalez, Jr. were re-elected to another term, defeating David Graham. Trainer L. R. “Tooter” Jordan ran unopposed in the trainer category to receive another term on the THBPA Board.

The full 2009 THBPA Board of Directors is:

Ted Abrams (Houston, TX)
Manuel B. “Bebe” Gonzalez, Jr.
Dr. Tommy Hays (Elgin, TX)
Jim Helzer (Arlington, TX)
Connie Nobles (Houston, TX)
Jerry Windham (College Station, TX)

John S. Buchanan (Peaster, TX)
Guy Hopkins (Cypress, TX)
L. R. “Tooter” Jordan (New Braunfels, TX)

Ordinarily, TTHBPA members would have been electing one owner and one trainer to the Board this year. However, the resignation of former TTHBPA President Carl Moore a few months ago precipitated a need for members to elect a second owner representative. In the TTHBPA owner category, the top two vote getters were John O. Roark and Dr. Tommy Bullard, D.V.M. They defeated a strong group of opponents consisting of James Driver, Larry Dyson, Steve
Robbins, and Tammy Wincott.

Owner Bill Martin chose not to run for another term on the TTHBPA Board. The THP would like to think Mr. Martin for his service to the horsemen and women of Texas during his term on the Board.

Incumbant Randy Mayfield was elected to another term as a trainer representative on the Board, defeating Jack Bruner.

The full 2009 TTHBPA Board of Directors is:

Dr. Tommy Bullard (Weatherford, TX)
Larry Christopher (Crockett, TX)
M. Jan Haynes (Dallas, TX)
Lane Hutchins (Fredericksburg, TX)
John Roark (Temple, TX)
Don Weeks (Dallas, TX)

W. Bret Calhoun (Grand Prairie, TX)
Mike Furr (Boerne, TX - Arabian Special Director)
Eleuterio “Junior” Martinez,Jr. (San Diego, TX)
Randy Mayfield (Grand Prairie, TX)

The THBPA and TTHBPA’s 2009 officers, as well as each organization’s representatives for the Texas Horsemen’s Partnership Management Committee, will be selected at each organization’s next Board of Directors meeting. The THP would like to welcome all new and returning members to its Boards.

Back to News