THBPA and TTHBPA Election Results Feature New and Familiar Faces

The Texas Horsemen’s Partnership (THP) recently concluded the 2007 Board of Director elections for its two partner organizations, the Texas Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association (THBPA) and the Texas Thoroughbred Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protective Association (TTHBPA). Ballots for the THBPA election were due to the THP office by January 7, while ballots for the TTHBPA election were due at the THP by January 4.

In the THBPA election, incumbents Jerry Windham and Connie Nobles were re-elected as owner representatives, while incumbent John Buchanan ran unopposed for the one open trainer’s position on the THBPA Board. Windham and Nobles defeated Warner Croft and a prior THBPA board member, David Graham.

The full 2008 THBPA Board of Directors is:

Owners - Ted Abrams (Houston, TX), Manuel “Bebe” Gonzalez, Jr. (Alamo, TX), Dr. Tommy Hays (Elgin, TX), Jim Helzer (Arlington, TX), Connie Nobles (Houston, TX) and Jerry Windham (College Station, TX)

Trainers - John S. Buchanan (Peaster, TX), Guy Hopkins (Cypress, TX), and L. R. “Tooter” Jordan (New Braunfels, TX)

In the TTHBPA election, M. Jan Haynes and incumbent Lane Hutchins defeated Jerry Heflin and Garner Gustin Wallgren for the two open owner director seats. W. Bret Calhoun, a former member of the TTHBPA board, defeated Jimmy L. Ray, Jr. to take the single open trainer’s seat on the board.

Owner Terry Blanton and trainer Danny Pish chose not to seek re-election to their respective positions on the TTHBPA board.
The full 2008 TTHBPA Board of Directors is:

Owners - Larry Christopher (Crockett, TX), M. Jan Haynes (Dallas, TX), Lane Hutchins (Fredericksburg, TX), W. A. “Bill” Martin (Dallas, TX), Carl Moore (Kennedale, TX), and Don Weeks (Dallas, TX)

Trainers - W. Bret Calhoun (Grand Prairie, TX), Mike Furr (Boerne, TX - Arabian Special Director), Eleuterio “Junior” Martinez, Jr. (San Diego, TX), and Randy Mayfield (Grand Prairie)

The THBPA and TTHBPA’s 2008 officers representatives for the Texas Horsemen’s Partnership Management Committee were selected at each organization’s first board meeting of the year on February 20. Dr. Tommy Hays was elected president of the THBPA, with Connie Nobles elected vice president. For the TTHBPA, Carl Moore was elected president, while outgoing president Larry Christopher will serve as vice president, and M. Jan Haynes will be the secretary-treasurer. Dr. Tommy Hays will chair the THP Management Committee, which will also include fellow THBPA Board members Guy Hopkins and Jerry Windham, as well as TTHBPA Board members W. Bret Calhoun, Larry Christopher, and Carl Moore.

The Texas Horsemen’s Partnership would like to express its sincere gratitude to outgoing directors Terry Blanton and Danny Pish for their years of hard work and dedication representing the horsemen and women of Texas. Their contributions to the THP and the Texas horse racing industry have been profound.

In addition, the THP would like to extend a sincere welcome to first-time TTHBPA board member M. Jan Haynes and W. Bret Calhoun, who returns to serve the THP after two years off.

Back to News